RCBC Friday Contest

March 18, 2005 at 10:51 am (Uncategorized)

Since I am not entering Stephen Keane’s Friday contest this week (due to my having won more than my share the last two weeks), I’m going to start by saying, “GET YOUR BLOGGERTRASH BUTTS OVER THERE AND ENTER!” The guy is an amazing artist and I am going to get my prizes matted and framed!

That said, here’s this week’s Raccoon City Book Club contest. No, I am not reprinting his hard work–you can click a link.

I really like this week’s subject tho, so I’m going to take a shot at it here.

Silly Scented Serra’s Frankenpet

I would have to start with a large body, but not too large to let it hop up on my bed, because my back lands me there a lot. Something about the size of a Lab would be perfect, with about 60 to 70 pounds mass, enough pet to hug when life sucks in every other view but my pet’s eyes. The eyes would be deep brown, expressive, a little sad, but they’d sparkle when I walk into the room. I love Beagle eyes–at first glance they seem dull and expressionless, but once you get to know them, you know exactly what’s going on in that hard little head.

No, I don’t want a dog’s body–while our Flat-Coated Retriever is the perfect hug-dog, I love the way cats move. Each little fur-painted paw is delicate no matter what size the cat is. The finely muscled legs and haunches ripple as the cat moves, each step deliciously planned ten steps ahead of time. They have an easy, sinuous grace to them, no matter what the size. I was struck by this while watching videotape on WDIV’s website (There’s a cougar-type large cat in a neighborhood in suburban Detroit)–that “stalk” is gorgeous to watch, especially when you know that in an instant it can switch from the slow, slightly rolling pad-pad-pad of elegant feet to a full-out DASH culminating in a POUNCE on the unsuspecting morsel that’s attracted the cat’s attention.

As much as I love both dogs and cats, I do wish they could talk. That big body will support a nice-sized head, so I would want Frankenpet to be able to talk. I don’t want it to just be able to mimic me; I want full-out (perhaps not debate-quality but I’ll deal with it) discourse! Of course, this would involve a little adjustment to the jaw, throat and brain, but I’m pretty sure it could be done with just a little alteration, not a full-out human head copy. (It’s my Frankenpet, I can do what I want!)

From there, I’m flexible (shut it, pervs!). The two things I still would want in the specs for Frankenpet is a loving heart and a trusting soul. Every great pet has both, and Frankenpet deserves the best. I really think it’s why having a pet and being a pet work–the loving heart lets an animal, even one of very little brain, bring itself to a contact that its wild state would never allow–touch by a human being. The trusting soul allows it to learn that even tho its instincts tell them not to play with the bald big things, that soul leads them back to their chosen person.

Yeah, it was mushy–bite me. But I did have fun.

Leave a Reply

