Censorship Blows update

May 23, 2005 at 12:23 pm (Soaping and Knitting, WTF)

First, here's the post this one is updating–see "Censorship Blows"

Before I begin, I'd like to express my deepest sympathy to the woman herself–you experienced a horrible loss and I'm so very sorry for that. I'm also sorry for the tempest your personal expression triggered. Please email me if you need anything I can do!

Now, on to the crap that pissed me off so much I needed to write it down.

It seems that the little bootlicker I had trouble with tried not being a control freak (to her credit), then regretted not being able to shut someone up. The NeoNazi who owns the Yahoo discussion groups I've had issues with in the past changed post status to not-moderated, but is currently having a shitfit about someone actually speaking. Seems that a member of the soaping community experienced a horrible loss in her family and dared to post about it. When she did, she was told that "this is not the place for this," in spite of the fact that she was posting about a situation that NO one should have to live thru (including the loss and injury of children!).

Naturally, the response to the post was large–soapmakers are generally a caring (if someone catty in spots) lot, so such awful news was answered with the empathy truly felt. At that point, one of the control freaks moderating the list posted a note basically saying that the lady shouldn't have dared to go off-topic in spite of the severity of the loss she felt. The responses were about 5 to 1 objecting to the reprimand, nearly all from folks stating they would be leaving the list "if that's how people are here."

The list is back on censored status while the head Nazi calms down enough to string sentences together.

Personally, I don't think she should bother. The very reason I object to dealing with that discussion list's owner is now obvious to all. I have to commend my BitchHo (will post a link for you if you want it, Ho Baby!) for her comments on the matter–I couldn't have said it better myself and I sure couldn't have been as kind as she was in her comments. I can't quote any of the folks here because I don't have permission within copyright laws to do so, but I agree with the majority. If this incident wasn't a shining example of what happens when a control freak can't operate as they please, I don't know what is!

It just amazes me that some think I'm such an awful bitch for the writing I do here on my blog, yet have the nerve to act like they do online. Folks who come here know it's not going to be a nicey-nice, sanitized world view and that all opinions are subjective. I do not tell others what they can and cannot say in the comments section. I may not agree but unless they don't have the nuts to own their opinions, they stand in my comments. I guess I'm just weird that way.

Leave a Reply

