No More Canned Tea

June 2, 2005 at 8:16 pm (Recipes)

I've always loved peach tea, ever since Snapple became famous and I became a whore for a convenience store. I think I've tried nearly every bottled or canned iced tea on the market at that time and many more that have come out since I split from my Golden pimp (complete chain name withheld for Express legal reasons). Finally, a couple days ago, my freedom from the pre-packed goodness was at hand.

Someone very nice posted a recipe for Peach Tea to a discussion list. Here's my version, played with a bit:

Peach Iced Tea

4 tea bags (Red Rose tea rocks for this!)
2 cups water
1/4 c. sugar
3 (12 oz) cans Peach Nectar, chilled.

Boil water, pour into heatsafe bowl or pitcher, place tea bags in water and steep 5 minutes. Mix in sugar (may alter to taste) while the tea is hot. Alternately make a simple syrup of equal parts sugar and water by volume and add 1/4 c. simple syrup. Place brewed tea in heat-safe pitcher and add Peach Nectar. Serve in tall glasses over lots of ice and SLURPPPPP!

I'm sitting here sipping a frosty glassful as I type, contemplating things to do to this very basic recipe. I could use white tea (green tea for those devoted to it; I never did like it much, especially not after the Green Tea ice cream I ran into during a social occasion where I had to play nice)…replace the black tea with Oolong…herbal peach teabags…and…

OH SHIT! I fergot the peach garnish! I'll settle for canned for now and await the harvest for truly good peaches.

Wonder if making my own nectar would work…

Note: Yes, I do indeed think like this sometimes. I get my best food and my best soap that way.

Leave a Reply

