Gimme the Frying Pan and No One Gets Hurt

July 2, 2005 at 8:56 am (Daily Dookie, Recipes, The Enlightening Ones)

Last night I did what I've been threatening to–I made DAMNED sure I could eat last night's supper. I made sure of this by making it myself. I made Chow Mein Casserole, an old recipe of my mother's, mesclun mix salad with generous goodies for topping, and we had ice cream sammiches for dessert.

It worked, and stuffed faces were worn by all. It's a good thing I doubled the recipe, because there's only about 2 cups left over. I'd planned to have several servings left so that the next boiled to mush meal wouldn't mean I go back to living on Honeycomb cereal and cheese and crackers, but that was not to be. By lunchtime today, all will be resting in the tums of one or another member of the household.

To forestall the "Where's the recipe?" demands, here it is:

Chow Mein Noodle Casserole

1 lb ground beef (the leaner the better)
1 small onion
1/2 tsp garlic powder
Pepper to taste
1 can Cream of Mushroom Soup
1 can Cream of Chicken Soup
1 Tbsp. good soy sauce (I prefer Kikkoman)
1/2 c. Minute Rice
1 can or small bag of Chow Mein Noodles

Brown ground beef, onion, garlic powder and pepper; drain fat from beef. Add soups, soy sauce and Minute Rice and stir thoroughly. Turn into 2 qt. casserole dish, top generously with noodles. Bake at 350 degrees for 30-45 minutes, until sauce is bubbly and noodles are browned.

Serve, stuff face.

For the foodies among you, there's loads of extras you can toss into this puppy and really have fun with it. Last night I happened to have access to some Baby Bellos (Crimini mushrooms, for the selective among you) so I chopped up 1/4 lb into small pieces and tossed them in while browning the meat. You could also augment this yummy comfort food with a little celery, some diced carrot, a touch of minced water chestnut…just don't overdo the vegies if you add them. Use your additions as accents, not major components.

Leave a Reply

