A Note About The Flag

August 20, 2005 at 10:40 pm (WTF)

I don't know if you've noticed the new way to commit censorship on Blogger, but I sure as dogshit did. That's what that little fucking "flag" button does–it tells Blogger that someone found specific content objectionable.

Interesting. Instead of finding a way to keep blogs from being spammed to death, the little dillholes who think up new features have now found a point-and-click way to let each and every one of us shut someone else the fuck up.

Is it just me, or does it occur to anyone else that if you don't like someone, all you have to do is post the link to their blog while telling all your friends to go mark the flag on it, thereby getting it removed from Blogger's directory. Am I the only one who sees the potential for abuse? Or does Blogger just not care?

Personally, I believe in live and let live–I may object my ass off to your original thoughts and ideas and what you find funny, pertinent, and noteworthy, but I firmly believe in your right to do so. The only truly objectionable sites I'm finding on Blogger are the ones that are obviously set up as spam drivers and Google magnets for spam sites. They piss me off beyond all recognition.

So, what am I doing with my Blogger-given right to flag? You got it–I'm flagging every pseudo-blog I see when I hit the "Next Blog" button. I'm certain my blog's going to get flagged, if it hasn't already, and since every user has the right to use that little button, I'm wearing the ass out of mine.

I wonder how long it will be before that little button's gone?

Leave a Reply

