Recipe: Beeramisu

April 30, 2006 at 9:58 pm (Recipes)

From 101 Cookbooks

This sounds really really strange, but I could see it with a good dark beer. Or Guiness if I can't find a good dark beer.

Beeramisu 

Heidi notes: I made a few minor tweaks to Paul's version. I did individual servings instead of a big family-style version and I used Italian-style ladyfingers called savoiardi, they are harder and don't go to mush when you dunk them in the coffee bath. Look for them at Italian markets. A.G. Ferrari here in San Francisco carries them.

1 pound mascarpone cheese

1 cup confectioner's sugar

2 eggs beaten (hs note: leave these out if you are worried about eating raw eggs, it's still tasty)

1 tablespoon vanilla

3/4 cup heavy cream, whipped

48 ladyfinger cookies (hs note: I used less, one 7 ounce package)

6 ounces (3/4 cup) Porter beer

1/2 cup brewed coffee, the stronger the better

1/2 cup cocoa

In a large bowl mix together the mascarpone, sugar, beaten eggs and vanilla. Fold in the whipped cream. Set this mixture aside. In a shallow dish stir together the Porter beer and the brewed coffee, Dip the ladyfingers cookies into the coffee mixture (hs note: if you are using regular non-Italian ladyfingers make it a quick dunk). Don't let the ladyfingers get soggy. Arrange them in a single layer in a glass casserole dish (hs note: 8×8 is prob. fine). Spread 1/2-inch layer of mascarpone mixture on top of the ladyfingers. Sprinkle with 1/4 cup cocoa. Repeat this for the second layer. Cover and chill in the refrigerator for at least two hours before serving.

Serves 12

8 Comments

  1. Amber said,

    Hey honey. Long time no see, very cool new look. I also love that your url matches your new site. Very, very nice. 😉

    Miss you!
    A

  2. vegasgustan said,

    Sounds pretty good. I think I might use some Negro Modelo…yum-a-dum-dum.

  3. Serra said,

    Amber–No need to miss me. RSS works fine here and now that you’ve made one comment yours won’t be moderated.

    VG–Nice to see you alive. I don’t know what Negro Modelo is but it’s gotta be better than Guiness.

  4. Molly said,

    New look… very cute. As for the dark beer… Guiness might be a budget-conscious solution, but there’s this wonderful dark beer made by monks. Chimay… they have it at Trader Joe’s and the like. It comes in a single big bottle. Kinda fun. 🙂 This recipe actually sounds interesting. I’m sure the beer would add a very unique flavor.

  5. Serra said,

    Hi Molly! Good to see you here!

    Chimay, hm? I don’t know if we have a Trader Joe’s but we have Whole Foods and a lot of gourmet grocery stores. Bet I can find it there, or make ’em order it for me.

  6. tnchick said,

    Hey you! I wanted to let you know I was busy with classes and the hubby – as he took off a couple days from work… and didn’t get your stuff sent off. Yep, call me slacker. :/ I will try to get it out, soon.

  7. monogodo said,

    Porter *is* a dark beer.

  8. Serra said,

    TN Chick–No problem, I’ll see it when I see it 🙂

    Monogodo–I know Porter is a dark beer. I’m not fond of the one Porter I’ve tried, however, hence the “good” part.

Leave a Reply

