Read the ad first

May 12, 2006 at 9:21 am (Pop Culture on Parade)

As I was surfing and trying my best to ignore the fact that although the conversations in the house were about me and mostly wondering what I knew or thought or was going to do, no one was actually asking me anything, I found this article:

Tue May 9, 5:13 AM ET BEIJING (Reuters) – A Chinese businessman who bought a Russian fighter jet online wants his money back after finding it could not be shipped to China, state media reported on Tuesday.

Zhang Cheng, a Beijing businessman, bid $24,730 (13,330 pounds) and paid a $2,000 deposit for the former Czech air force plane on Chinese-based eBay, Xinhua news agency said.

The article goes on to say that the seller clearly limited delivery to the US and Canada, and if I remember correctly it'd be highly illegal to send a fighter jet to China due to limits on arms sales, not to mention the high probability of having it shot down during delivery. And this brilliant doofus wanted to display it. At least, that's what everyone is supposed to believe.

I tried to find the original ad but no luck. However, anyone who's used eBay more than once figures out the cardinal rule of playing on eBay: THOU READEST THE AD MOST THOROUGHLY, LEST THOU APPEAR A DIPSHIT. 

8 Comments

  1. MoeThatsMe said,

    Did he want fries with that?
    Sounds like an accident waiting to happen!!

  2. Julie said,

    Oh, the things you can find on eBay.

    And something is going on to skew the American Idol votes. At least this is what the DJ on my radio station has been saying all morning. That’s why I listen to this station. They talk about the issues that affect us all, dammit. 😉

  3. Blair Bitch said,

    Speaking of eBay…how ’bout you post an advt. asking for people to donate money to your very worthy cause?! Perhaps you could sell your ex’s mother and see what kind of money you can get for that?

  4. vanessa said,

    Only dumb luck explains how idiots like this survive to adulthood.

    I like Blair Bitch’s idea.

  5. pissy said,

    ….he’s dumb, but still rich enough to buy a jet….not fair! 😦

  6. Serra said,

    MTM–Sounds like someone with more money than sense, and yes, the accident waiting to happen.

    Julie–I’d heard that too–also heard that Chris was palmed off as AI’s low vote-getter when in reality he’s being removed for a rules violation. No confirmation on either one far as I can Google either.

    BlairBitch–I’m considering it, and considering your suggestion too.

    Vanessa–I do too. I think I’d have to pay someone to take her tho.

    Pissy–Yeah, not at all fair. Wonder if I send him a letter telling him I’m an American princess and if he sends me some money I’ll nominate him for knighthood, if it’d get me bucks?

  7. pissy said,

    I think you should try it!

    What’ve you got to loose! 😉

  8. The Ultimate Groupie said,

    I hope you are successful in finding the money to get out of there.

    If the donation thing doesn’t work out, maybe try getting a part time job for a short time just to get the extra money.

Leave a Reply

